Poem A Day Hangover

I’m back on Poetic Asides today for the Wednesday poetry prompt because I’m still in an April PAD hangover. Today’s prompt is to write a reconnect poem:

Somewhere around the bend
at the 3 kilometer mark
Where the trial falls further
away from town and winds
through the ravine

After stewing and turning
over things I should have
long ago shed

Around the time the
Cardinal sailed by
And then a Blue Jay
peered down at me
When I looked up
to find boughs bending
A glimpse of the brilliance
of blue
How remarkable
It is I’m seeing them as if
through a child’s eyes for
the first time

Around the time I began
to sense the softness
of pine needles
beneath my feet

And that finally after months
of grey I’m surrounded by green
The color of harmony
And only the sound of my own
breath

Around that time I stopped
Listened to the silence
and reconnected with the earth

Leave a Reply

