Poem a Day Challenge – Day 27

Today’s poem in your pocket day. I tend to carry Paulo Coelho’s words around with me.

The prompt today to use the following six words had me stumped for awhile but I managed to use all six.

  • pest
  • crack
  • ramble
  • hiccup
  • wince
  • festoon

Cityscape rises out of a misty morning
at the crack of dawn
I ramble down the highway
Turn that pesty news off and press
play
Chris Stapleton’s rasp asking
What are you listenin’ to

That song makes me hiccup
on the pain, wince at how
a soul could be seared
from the missing

As I round the final bend
The slow morning curl of
rose and amber festoons the lake
Says we’re here
Daybreaks

And here’s two of my favourites from PAULO COELHO:

Anyone who has lost something
they thought was theirs forever
finally comes to realize
nothing really belongs to them

At every moment of our lives
we all have one foot in a fairy tale
and the other in the abyss

4 thoughts on “Poem a Day Challenge – Day 27

Leave a Reply

