April Poem a Day Challenge – Day 11

Well, I guess it had to happen at some point. Today’s challenge was to write a sonnet. I’ve never written one before and to be honest, they scare the heck out of me. So here’s my first one. Didn’t quite get the 10 beats per line – but close.

I came to you beneath the weeping trees
I came with a bruised heart reluctantly
Looked for you beneath the evergreen
And found a spring morn beating peacefully

Your place so quiet, warm and serene
You in speckled light lying side by side
Without a thought I began to speak
The words rushed out on a torrent, a tide

I told you of your granddaughters lives
How much had happened since you left
On a peaceful morning in the sunshine
Somehow talking to you made me accept

I came to you beneath the weeping trees
And left you quiet and serene

6 thoughts on “April Poem a Day Challenge – Day 11

  1. NaPoWriMo had a bop for the prompt today, which is a sonnet with a refrain line. Have you done PAD before? Usually the sonnet comes up at some point – April 14 is the most popular day for the form.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

