Poem for the week

I don’t know why the prompts lately make me think of songs, but this one over on Poetic Asides did it again.

Take the phrase “Make (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then, write your poem. And that made me think of Angel From Montgomery.

So here it is – not quite how the master poet, John Prine, wrote it – but it’s got some hurting in it.

Make me a road back home

Because we’re as broken down
As that car on the road side
And I’m no longer that girl
who believes angels can fly

You said the big city
Held all our dreams
Lights and desires
Can go down in flames

You tell me you love me
Even as the street lamps fade and dim
On peeling paint and rusted sinks
My eyes have grown old and this isn’t livin’

There’s dead end jobs
And dead end roads
And I can no longer see
That girl from long ago

I’ve paved broken streets
With your rose colored glasses
Lined up your pink slips
And tossed the pretty dresses

It’s time for me to make my way back home

Written for Poetic Asides

5 thoughts on “Poem for the week

  1. I liked this Trish, lovely to see you again, by the way, the feeling of resolution of having tried and not succeeded is reason to go back to your roots and re-establish yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice – sad and sorrowing but with all kinds of interesting images that are thought-provoking and open to broader thoughts. I guess it’s hard to go wrong when you’re inspired by John Prine!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

