What I Learned – 30 Days of Poeming

The April Poem A Day (PAD) Challenge has come to an end and I have to say I feel a mixture of relief from the pressure of coming up with something every day and sadness that it’s over because….oh so many beautiful words were written. I’m not gonna lie, I found it addictive logging onto the site all day to read the poems posted by so many talented writers.

I read a comment on the site from another writer on the last day of the challenge when we’d all reached the finish line, that this was his first PAD Challenge and he felt kind of like the guy who signed up for a race because it sounded like fun and then realized what the hell was he thinking that he could run a marathon with no training.

I remember feeling like that last year. I joined in on the spur of the moment, having never written poetry (seriously what was I thinking?) and a few days in, I remember wondering – what have I done?? And then as PAD approached this year, did I still have enough poetry in me to make it through another month?

But here’s the thing – yes I had more poetry in me. Yes it was hard — some days taking me all day to come up with words I could call a poem. But it was sooo much fun too, and inspiring, and I learned so much.

There are amazing, talented poets who share not just their words, but their hopes and fears, triumph and sorrows and humor, always encouraging with comments on one another’s posts.

The pressure of posting daily didn’t allow me to explore too many new forms, but I did look up a few forms other writers were posting and tried my hand at them. I’m hoping to spend some time to dive in to learn to write in formats I haven’t previously tried but scare the bejeezus out of me – like sonnets. And, perhaps the greatest win from writing poetry is learning how to tell a story in so few words – that is something I can take into all areas of my writing. Plus, the writing community is  the bestest 🙂

If anything, what I learned from the April PAD Challenge is the age old advice – just write! Write what’s in your heart. The rest doesn’t matter.

Thanks to all the poets for sharing their talent.

giphy

8 thoughts on “What I Learned – 30 Days of Poeming

  1. Yes.. stressful but fun and immensely satisfying especially on the days when I liked what I wrote. And strangely I don’t feel so bad about rejections anymore because I see that there are so many brilliant poets out there. So I have been kind of put in my place in a very nice way. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hung around here just watching the Friends gang applauding 🙂 Trish, I have to admit that several of your poems this month were so real that I would have to gulp and gasp. THAT is good poetry! Re: Forms – I have a list of about 60 forms (most came from Brewer’s posting a few years back) and as I conquer one, I highlight it in a pretty color and do my end-zone dance. Just keep writing! Jilly

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

