Day 21 – April Poem a Day challenge

Today’s prompt definitely took some thinking but it was so worth it because today was Poem in your pocket day. “It’s a day to pick a poem to carry in your pocket and share spontaneously throughout your day.”

An Open Letter To My Children

I see your eyes when the news plays on
plays on and on, wallpaper in the background
background blasting, the flicker of confusion at so much hate
hate that each atrocity could be worse than the one that came before
Before, when your universe still felt safe

I see your faces at the smallness of minds
Minds that hide behind a few characters online
Online, doesn’t mean truth in fact you should question
Question even if there’s more of them than you
You should believe that an army of good can make a difference

Know there’s beauty in a sunrise and sunset
Sunsets are yearning and you should yearn for more
More than settling but you should dream big, surrender
Surrender to dreams that are bigger than you and never forget
Forget me nots and flowers, the song in your heart and always remember

Remember to keep a poem in your pocket

Inspired by Walt Whitman

Oh me! Oh life! of the questions of these recurring,
Of the endless trains of the faithless, of cities fill’d with the foolish,
Of myself forever reproaching myself, (for who more foolish than I, and who more faithless?)
Of eyes that vainly crave the light, of the objects mean, of the struggle ever renew’d,
Of the poor results of all, of the plodding and sordid crowds I see around me,
Of the empty and useless years of the rest, with the rest me intertwined,
The question, O me! so sad, recurring—What good amid these, O me, O life?

Answer.
That you are here—that life exists and identity,
That the powerful play goes on, and you may contribute a verse.

Written for Poetic Asides April PAD Challenge

3 thoughts on “Day 21 – April Poem a Day challenge

Leave a Reply

