Day 11 April PAD Challenge

Today’s prompt is to write a Defensive poem. Sometimes, as it’s been pointed out – Mondays call for that.

Here’s my – DEFEND poem

I remember where we were sitting, Mom
splash of sunlight on your face
summer was your favorite time of year
We were sitting in your kitchen
over tea with a touch of lemon please
When you could still scrawl your name
to seal our pact, they have a fancy name for that

I remember I promised you, Mom
When your legs can no longer carry you
when even your smile is broken
When the demons in your head can no longer
give you rest
I promised you, Mom
that I would be your voice
until you took your last breath

Leave a Reply

