Getting ready for April PAD challenge

We’re getting ready for the Poem A Day (PAD) challenge over on Poetic Asides on Writer’s Digest. Join us for some fun.

Today’s prompt on Poetic Asides is Preparation. Today, it’s been two years since my Mom’s death.  Here are my thoughts on preparation:

There’s no preparing for
how to remember
the day you left
or the life you lived
measured in smiles
not years

I recall a full moon came out
to beckon you home

They say it gets easier
but I think it gets longer
the distance between
you and me

Days slip by
your stamp still on them
A smile, a laugh
in my daughters’ faces
And there you are
branding our hearts
all over again

Leave a Reply

