Tag you’re it writing questions

I was tagged on twitter for this fun questionnaire by the wonderful Hester Fox – she writes ‘sigh worthy’ stories and is really smart – like she knows things about art and history and medieval times.

Here’s my answers and I’ve tagged others at the end.

When did you first start writing? Was being a writer something you always aspired to?

I was the kid in grade school who loved creative writing and English. If someone asked me what I wanted to be when I grow up, I told them a writer. Until I realized that I needed to make money and well, writing wasn’t going to be it.

What genre do you write?

Realistic YA and NA. I love writing stories about girls and women at a crossroads in their lives…and that moment in time when everything changes.

Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress? When did you start working on this project?

My current WIP is about a girl learning to live in chronic pain due to a freak accident. There’s a bad boyfriend, an ex-best friend, her family falling apart and a new guy and his guitar. If I’ve done this right you should feel some feels. I started writing it in the spring and it came pouring out of me in a matter of weeks.

What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?

I think it might have been about a horse. Black Beauty craze you know.

What’s the best part about writing?

Escaping

What’s the worst part about writing?

Second guessing myself

What’s the name of your favourite character and why?

From the moment I read and forever after – it’s Jane Eyre for me

How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night)?

I’m a night owl and how much time depends on my work cycle. I produce corporate events so in peak season, sadly, I have to cram writing in late at night for a few hours a week.

Did you go to college for writing?

No

What bothers you more: speeling errors; punctuation, errors, or errors for grammar?

I’m a stickler for spelling  (hopefully there’s none in this post!)

What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?

Write the story that’s in you, for yourself, not anyone else.

What advice would you give to another writer?

Read, write – it will help you with your own writing. And don’t let the negative voice in your head win – ever.

What are your favourite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?

Twitter – who knew there were so many people to connect with and willing to share their knowledge. Quick Brown Fox blog for connecting on workshops and other writer tips. Writers Digest.

Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are your hobbies?

Music, reading, running.

What’s the best book you’ve read this year?

I love everything by Jojo Moyes and this year reading The Girl You Left Behind

What’s the best movie you’ve seen this year?

It wasn’t a new release but I finally watched The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and well, you know – Judi Dench

What is your favourite book or series of all time?

No fair! Little Women, Anne of Green Gables, Little House on the Prairie were all responsible for me reading in bed with a flashlight.

Who is your favourite author?

That’s also not a fair question. Right now – Jojo Moyes and in YA, Katie Cotugno.

What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing?

Querying my current novel and getting started on a new one. Continue writing poetry. I joined in the Writer’s Digest April PAD challenge (I’m not sure what I was thinking b/c I’d barely written poetry before that, so why I thought I could turn out a poem a day is beyond me) but since then I’ve joined the forum weekly on Wednesdays – such a great community and writing poetry has taught me so much about writing. Like how to make every single word count.

Where else can we find you online?

https://trishwrites1.wordpress.com/

@trishwrites1

And now I’m tagging:

@MyraFiacco
@SaraJoCluff
@Claribel_Ortega

Sorry if you’ve already done it!

When did you first start writing?
Was being a writer something you always aspired to?
What genre do you write?
Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress?  When did you start working on this project?
What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?
What’s the best part about writing?
What’s the worst part about writing?
What’s the name of your favourite character and why?
How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night)?
Did you go to college for writing?
What bothers you more: speeling errors; punctuation, errors, or errors for grammar?
What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?
What advice would you give to another writer?
What are your favourite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?
Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are your hobbies?
What’s the best book you’ve read this year?
What’s the best movie you’ve seen this year?
What is your favourite book or series of all time?
Who is your favourite author?
What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing?
Where else can we find you online?

Leave a Reply

